We start with The Simpsons' new intro for the episode To Surveil With Love, a show so dull it's sole joke was a picture of 17 Hulks and a Spiderman on a baseball diamond.
We began, however, with a lip synched opening featuring the whole of Springfield relating to a song, which I was informed later was named Tik Tok, no c's in this stuff anymore, by someone who calls themself Ke$ha, no s's either, yoof of today.
Anyway, it's some autotuned shit that is just awful, and in addition to being a bad song, is irrelevant to the show, and as such the 2 minute opening, similar to the show's standard opening, only different enough to prove it's all new, but, I mean, WHAT THE FUCK?!?!?!
Horrible in every way, it has no point, no use, nothing. This is the worst thing The Simpsons has done, yes, worse than retconning the kids in That 90's Show.
Just look at it:
The Simpsons has tarnished itself again. So be it, Al Jean, this is one of those straws that the camel's back will just about suffice pre-Buckaroo.
And yet. Breaking Bad's 7th episode in the season.
At the beginning of episode 6 we saw the cousins, those bad ass dudes who blew up the truck in episode 1, axe-d down poor Gomez, who took the Marshall job after Hank turned it down.
And then, when they couldn't go after Walter, they were allowed to turn to Hank.
And fuck me, the opening gave us a bit of history with the cousins and their uncle, humanising, and then the end of the aptly titled "One Minute".
Well.
After Hank beat Jesse to a pulp for the pranking of his wife's injury last week, and a wonderful performance from Aaron Paul, the show churned out lots of great performances, and then, the final 'minute', in a parking lot, violent, ridiculously tense, and the best stuff TV has given us since The Sopranos.
Start watching this show, and then get all the way to this fantastic episode. Perfection. Beautiful.
AMC, Walking Dead, That will rule, official.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment